Natural Toothpaste

Toothpaste is good right? We learn from a very young age the importance of dental hygiene, and really, thank goodness! Your mouth is a gateway to your body. An infection or imbalance in your mouth directly affects your health in a profound way. We need not only healthy teeth, but healthy gums, mucosa and tongue to have a completely healthy body. Unfortunately, like many other things we use on our bodies, not every ingredient in commercial toothpaste is safe, and how many people research it, really? Your body is worth the time and effort, I promise, but I’m going to help you out.

Fluoride is helpful to our body in very small amounts, but can be toxic to our bodies when over consumed, especially for pregnant women. I like to think my inner hippie knew this long before I was a hippie. Each time I was pregnant, the smell, sight and texture of toothpaste was revolting to me. I feel fluoride in your water supply is dangerous because it is not properly monitored. Filter it out! The proper amount of fluoride can be found in a diet full of fresh fruits and veggies, and consuming it in this way, the natural way, doesn’t coat your teeth. This “protective coating” placed on your teeth from commercial dental hygiene products to prevent stains and decay also prevents your teeth from directly reabsorbing needed minerals for healthy teeth. Funny how our bodies are designed to heal themselves and do amazing, unimaginable things, yet we have a need to constantly try to design something better than nature.

As far as other commercial toothpaste ingredients, I go back to one very important hippie rule: if I cant say it (or it has more than six syllables) I don’t want in on or in my body.  At least not without doing my research. Some common ingredients are: polyethylene (aka plastic), Sodium Lauryl Sulfate I’m sure you’ve heard of recently (lots of conflicting research, but I say when in doubt leave it out). Then you will have a lot of artificial flavor and color, and the agents to keep them evenly dispersed and shelf stable, etc. and artificial sweeteners which are never good. Bottom line, why put unnecessary ingredients in your hygiene products?

20150721_221155

Even more convincing than my research on the cons of name brand toothpaste ingredients, is what I learned about what my natural toothpaste ingredients can do for me. Bentonite clay, made from volcanic ash, is able to remove toxins and hard metals, and is a source of several essential minerals. Bentonite is also a scrubbing agent. Diatomaceous earth is a scrubbing agent and removes bacteria. Baking soda is commonly known to clean and balance acidity, and also will whiten your teeth. Xylitol balances pH in your mouth, removes bacteria and keeps bacteria from sticking to your teeth, but also stimulates saliva which repairs tooth enamel. Coconut oil is not only good for removing bacteria, it also helps whiten teeth. Essential oils can be used for flavor and to clean and whiten, and are amazing, but are completely optional.

I do not have pictures for you, however, I will tell you that I smoked cigarettes for 12 years and have drank coffee, soda etc. even longer than that. Store bought natural toothpaste is expensive and just didn’t cut if for me. I started making my toothpaste a year ago and have tried different options. Some not so successful. My teeth are now whiter than they have been in years, or even decades. It took under a month on this recipe for me to look and say “wow, my teeth are whiter”. I also spent years having chronic mouth sores and gum inflammation as well as swollen, irritated taste buds. All that has resolved. And dare I say this, I was starting to get a cavity, but it is gone. At my last dentist visit, the doc said “If everyone had teeth like yours I wouldn’t have a job.” I’m claiming success on this one.

All natural whitening toothpaste:20150724_224011

5 Tbsp bentonite clay

2 Tbsp diatomateous

2 Tbsp baking soda

3 Tbsp xylitol

3-5 Tbsp coconut oil

peppermint oil (breath freshener, mucosa health) 10-20 gtts

lemon oil (whitening) 5-10 gtts

Mix all ingredients to a paste as shown. The texture and taste will be as consistent as you make it with your stirring. A good mixture will be slightly clumpy, sweet and minty. I keep mine in a food container. I have tried using fractionated coconut oil, and also putting my paste in a squeeze tube. Over all I just prefer this way, but I also do not share my container with anyone else. Wet your brush and scoop up a hunk of paste. Brush away!

If you want a softer or wetter paste add more coconut oil. Like anything with coconut oil, warm temperatures will melt your paste and you’ll need to mix it again. Also, there are many other essential oils that are beneficial for overall dental health and specific conditions. I use a protective blend of oils just a drop on top of my paste once weekly. I encourage you to research your oils and choose a flavor you love.

***Due to a bunch of new legal babble and something with the FDA (oh, hippie, if you can’t say anything nice, don’t…) I can no longer provide you direct links to purchase my oils of choice, nor can I advertise my brand to you via any website not directly affiliated with said brand/company. You can contact me about ordering oils via my Facebook page.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sue Smith says:

    Make Mam some!
    xox

    Like

Leave a Reply

