Wavy Hair Spritz

20151108_073947-1I have curly hair. I use the term “curly” loosely. Really my hair is never the same from one day to the next. My hair is an ever changing entity that lives upon my head, over which I have little control. I spent most of my life trying to tame the beast, products and more products, flat irons and blow dryers and other torturous devices. The most liberating part of going hippie is letting my hair be natural.
My hippie shampoo is incredible and has really cut down on my hair dilemma. But still… Curly hair means I have greasy roots and dry ends. Over washing is one of the biggest no-no’s for hair. How do I tame the frizzy mess after I do wash it? What do I do with it after sleeping on the monster without washing? Well, this extensive collection of photos I have without all my hair up will show you…. okay, these are the only pictures I have.

I can dampen my hair with this hair spritz, rake a wide-toothed comb (a.k.a. my fingers) through it, scrunch it a little and be good to go. And smell amazing I might add! Now let’s not be delusional and think this is going to give you prefect salon tousled locks. But I can tell you it is a healthy alternative to store-bought products, cheaper than the “natural” choices on the shelves, and it gives my hair a nice soft, beachy, natural, wavy-curly-ish style. Did I mention it smells really good? Just the aromatherapy benefits of this spray should be reason enough to make it. And I do admit, I use it as a body spray as well. It’s better than Vicki’s Secret or some bottled chemicals named by a celebrity.IMAG0562-1 (1)

I’ll tell you another trick I use when my hair is really unruly. Pure aloe vera gel with no additives not only helps mend split ends, but it also lends a very light hold… like cheap hair gel, without the flaking! I mostly use the aloe just on the tips of each layer, where the curls separate with too much movement. But you know how our amazing bodies like to regenerate by shedding old hair and skin and growing new? This is a nightmare for curly haired people! Can I get an “Amen!”? When Im suffering one of these unfortunate but necessary time periods, I also put the aloe (lightly) onto my roots. I comb the tiny springs, I mean baby hairs, into submission with my aloe-covered fingers.20151006_180843-1

Back to today’s mission. The recipe for my hair spritz:

  • 4 oz distilled water (could use rose water, yum!)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1-2 tsp arrowroot starch (for oily roots)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla
  • 15 gtts tea tree oil
  • 3 gtts lemongrass oil
  • 15 gtts lavender oil

Mix ingredents in a dark colored glass spray bottle for longevity. Shake before each use. Spray onto wet or dry hair as needed.

Depending on humidity levels in your area, time of year, your water (hard or soft) and your hair, you may want to adjust the amount of salt. Salt is going to give your hairs natural desire to wave and curl a nice boost. Too much can make frizz! Also remember that lemongrass oil can make skin photosensitive. Avoid getting large amount on skin that will be out in the sun.

I do not have all the answers, but I do have the best essential oils in the world. You can too! Ask me about them!

One Comment Add yours

  1. sssliberty@aol.com says:

    This is good writing, you could go commercial!!! Xox

    Sent from my Verizon 4G LTE Smartphone

    Like

Leave a Reply

