Non-Stinky-Hippie Deo

Here lately my hippie-home-made deodorant has become mighty popular. And by that I mean maybe 3 or 4 others use it. Those people are devout believers in the hippie deo, though. I have met a rash of people looking for a better option. Many people are afraid to try. Many people can’t afford the expensive store-bought non-toxic deodorants.

I have worked on this recipe for a couple of years. I went through the pit detox. I went through the raw-can’t-put-my-arms-down aftermath of using baking soda and coconut oil recipes. You know I am all about sharing my knowledge with you, so that you can easily get to a healthier lifestyle. Take it from me, do not use baking soda and coconut oil as deodorant. I also suffered quite a bit using the solid recipes containing beeswax.

I learned long ago that not wearing deodorant doesn’t make you stinky, unless you normally wear it every day and miss a day. So, in essence, (yes, it is funny that I said “in essence”) wearing deodorant is what makes you stinky it clogs your pores with toxins which smell bad when you sweat and they ooze out of you.

I used to be obsessed with showering multiple times a day, brushing my teeth multiple times a day etc. During this time I dated someone for several months, and got up close and personal with them, before they told me not only do they not take showers accept for once a month, but they do not wear deodorant. I called him a liar right off because he never smelled bad. Then it sank in and I was grossed out, mortified!  It did not make scents… heehee I’m so funny… it didn’t make sense. We were both vegetarians and ate pretty healthy balanced diets, even drank a little soda or beer and smoked sometimes. But truly we smelled good. He did not completely bombard his body with toxic foods, everything was in moderation. His gut was healthy. He also did not wash off all the good protective oils and bacteria and disrupt his normal skin flora. Nor did he layer on toxic chemicals everyday like found in typical store bought soap, shampoo, and deodorant that his body had to try to push out of his system. I never did seem to catch on still for years. Looking back now it all makes perfect scents. 🙂 I will stop with the puns eventually. Maybe.

google_ad_client = “ca-pub-1636646169344234”;
google_ad_slot = “1168505706”;
google_ad_width = 300;
google_ad_height = 600;


//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js

When I was small my grandmother did not wear deodorant. She said she didn’t sweat. I don’t think she didn’t, she just had a healthy body that didn’t have to detox heavily. We lived on a farm, ate healthy diets, lots of fresh stuff, not too much processed food or chain restaurant dining, and very little sugar. I recall that she also didn’t scrub down heavily on a daily basis. She would soak in a tub with bath salts almost daily after working in the garden, but was very picky about using only certain soaps and I do not think she used soap on her whole body every day. She also did everything in moderation, make-up etc. She always smelled good! And I’ve got to mention that my grandmother aged more gracefully than any other woman I’ve seen.

When I decided to try natural deodorant the first time I tried a salt rock. I was too impatient to see if it worked. But as I was watching a popular zombie show and wondering how they don’t completely reek without deo, I made a connection, when you sweat, salt comes out basically. When I think back to that guy I dated, I remember him having just a faint salty smell to his underarms after sweating. So, the salt deo stick kind of imitates what your body does naturally. Hmm. Why not just salt then?

Not just salt, because I am a sweater, and not the knitted kind. I do not want waterfalls coming from my pits… even if they don’t stink, ewe! And  then there’s the chaffing. OK that was gross, but you get the idea. I tried it all, everything I could find on Pinterest. Finally, I found the perfect recipe for me. My deo helps cut down on the amount of sweating without the harmful effects of an antiperspirant. It keeps my pits detoxed, and odor free. Plus, my skin is sift and never chafes. So, now that you have suffered my bad puns and read me laughing at myself, here is the final recipe for you.

Non-stinky-hippie deo:
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup arrowroot starch
3 tbsp bentonite clay
2 drops each of these essential oils: citronella, lemongrass, lavender, rosemary, and tea tree (buy here)

Directions: mix. Smear on clean pits.

Wasn’t that easy? Now the best part is it takes less than a pea size for each pit, unless you’re hairy. Men tend to need more. But still, this recipe will last a couple of months in my house with multiple users. This will save you money, which you can spend on more essential oils, which will make your life better. WIN!

After going through the pit detox, I can go 24 plus hours without reapplying and not be stinky, even after a moderate amount of sweating. I have also started playing with different smells, but I have found that certain oils help with sweating and odor. These basic oils are a good starting point. Get creative and have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

