Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits

Gluten can cause a number of health problems, and contribute to many more, even if you do not have a gluten allergy or intolerance. For me, the focus is my inflammatory response. I love bread, but anytime I eat it I hurt all over, and my skin becomes super sensitive. A gluten free diet is beneficial for everyone though, and is becoming recognized as such. Gluten free food can be very expensive, hard to find, be complicated as all get out to make, and sometimes taste horrible, or fall apart as soon as you touch it.

image

//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Any special diet can be difficult. For my family, the challenge of eating gf is texture and being time and cost effective. I have decided that in order to stick with this, I needed to find an easy, delicious and cost effective recipe for our favorite foods. A huge staple in our breakfast loving family is biscuits. So, biscuits became priority and I have mastered a delicious creation that I want to you try. I know you will love this too! Just look at that texture!

image

Gluten Free Buttermilk Biscuits

2 cups of gluten free flour (mix of 1/3 tapioca starch and 2/3 rice flour will work if you don’t already have a mixture)
3 3/4 tablespoons baking powder
1 tablespoon salt
2 tablespoons xanthan gum
1/2 cup soft butter
2 eggs beaten
2/3 cup buttermilk
Extra flour for rolling out

Directions: mix dry ingredients well, cut in butter until a fine crumbly texture, slowly stir in butter milk. Roll out to 2/3 the desired final thickness. I do about 1/2 inch thick and use two instead of having to cut a biscuit in half. Cut and lay snugly in a cast iron skillet or baking sheet of your choice. Bake for 15 minutes at 400 dehrees Fahrenheit.

Now eat and enjoy! 🙂

Buy essential oils here.

Leave a Reply

